Most Anticipated September Releases

Happy Wednesday everyone! How’s the middle of the week going for you? With August coming to an end, I figured a post about my most anticipated September releases would be fitting! Let me know if we have any in common and what September books you’re most excited for!

31450852Tower of Dawn

Goodreads summary:

Chaol Westfall has always defined himself by his unwavering loyalty, his strength, and his position as the Captain of the Guard. But all of that has changed since the glass castle shattered, since his men were slaughtered, since the King of Adarlan spared him from a killing blow, but left his body broken.

His only shot at recovery lies with the legendary healers of the Torre Cesme in Antica—the stronghold of the southern continent’s mighty empire. And with war looming over Dorian and Aelin back home, their survival might lie with Chaol and Nesryn convincing its rulers to ally with them.

But what they discover in Antica will change them both—and be more vital to saving Erilea than they could have imagined.

My thoughts: You already know how much I love Sarah J Maas don’t you? Chaol was one of my favorite characters in the beginning of the Throne of Glass series and even though he really got in my nerves in Queen of Shadows, I still love him! So when I found out Sarah was writing a book all about him, I knew I needed it as soon as it came out! I’ve already pre ordered my copy and I can’t wait to for it to arrive!

Continue reading

Advertisements

Game of Thrones Book Tag

got

Hey guys! How’s your Thursday going? I haven’t had much time to write this week because I’ve been working full time but I still wanted to post, so I decided to do a quick and easy tag! And after this week’s mind blowing Game of Thrones episode (I’m still unable to form coherent thoughts about it!) I decided to go with a Game of Thrones one! Here we go!

1. Cersei Lannister ~ A book that took you by surprise

Salt to the Sea was definitely a book that took me by the surprise, simply because I didn’t expect to love it as much as I did! Historical fiction is not a genre I usually reach for, so I was very reluctant to pick it up! But luckily I didn’t regret it and it turned out a five star read for me! You can check out my full review here!

28103790

 

 2. Tyrion Lannister ~ A quotable book

I had to go with one of my absolutely favorite books of all time! Cassandra Clare’s writing in The Infernal Devices was phenomenal and there are so many memorable quotes in it! Will’s “it was books that made me feel, that perhaps I was not completely alone” comes to mind first but there are so many more in all three TID books! And we all have to admit that Clockwork Princess was one of the best series finales ever! Still heartbroken about that epiloque!

18335634

Continue reading

Review on “Salt to the Sea” by Ruta Sepetys

28103790Genre: historical, YA

Format: paperback

Publisher: Puffin

Published: February 2nd, 2016

Pages: 391

 

Goodreads summary:

World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide.Among them areJoana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to theship that promises salvation, the “Wilhelm Gustloff.” Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other testedwith each step closer to safety. 
Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Notcountry, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people adults and children alike aboard must fight for the same thing: survival. 
Told in alternating points of view and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr’s Pulitzer Prize-winning”All the Light We Cannot See,” Erik Larson’s”Dead Wake,” and Elizabeth Wein’s Printz Honor Book”Code Name Verity,” this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the”Wilhelm Gustloff “the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in”Between Shades of Gray,” Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity and love can prevail, even in the darkest of hours. 

 

My thoughts:

“Per aspera ad astra,’ I whispered. Through hardship to the stars.”

First of all let me just say that this is not a book I expected to love as much as I did! Mostly because historical fiction is not a genre I usually reach for and I had no idea what to expect when I picked it up. But Salt to the Sea managed not only to surprise me, but also move me more than any other book ever has. So much, that I have come to love historical fiction because of it, and especially historical fiction set in the era in which it takes place which is World War II.

More specifically, the book is set in 1945 Germany, and I was actually amazed about the way Ruta Sepety’s rich world building and vivid images  immediately drew me into the story and hooked me right from the first page! Not only that, but the multiple point of views give you the chance to both discover the story and rediscover the era through different perspectives and sides and it’s what I loved the most about it!

Continue reading

Book Subscription Boxes a.k.a. Christmas Every Month

IMG_20170619_142803_670

Hey guys! How’s everyone doing? I know I said I’d start posting regularly again but I’ve had a far busier summer than I anticipated and blogging didn’t really work out unfortunately. I’ll try to post as often as I can but I can’t make any promises, especially since September is approaching and is usually a hectic month for me. I do however have a post for you today and it’s all about book subscription boxes!

I don’t know about you but I personally love subscription boxes! And you know why? Because I also love bookmarks. And candles. And mugs. And lip balms. And books, obviously! Book subscription boxes combine them all, so they are pretty much what I like to call Christmas every month! They always make my day and make me smile, which is why I consider them a very important and also special part of my life! There are so many book boxes out there, and every one of them is awesome and unique in its own way. Today, I’m gonna share the ones I’ve had a personal experience with and trust me when I say they are all amazing!

Before I do however,  I want to thank the people behind them for all their hard work and dedication into making these boxes as amazing as possible for all of us! They are all wonderful people who deserve congratulations for making so many bookworms out there happy with their boxes, and I for one feel incredibly lucky and grateful to have met and worked with many of them!

Continue reading